A Brief Introduction

Welcome to my blog, Chronically Hopeful. I am excited to finally be able to being this blog. My name is Victoria. Currently I am going for my bachelors in psychology, then I am planning on getting my masters. My ultimate goal is to go somewhere into ministry. I’m far from your typical college student, battling many chronic illnesses daily. It is difficult to know where to begin when sharing about my illnesses.

Over view of the road to diagnosis: I began experiencing chronic back pain in second grade though it was quickly dismissed. I missed half the school year in third grade due to viruses, the flu, and chronic stomach pain. The chronic pain made its way to various joints throughout the years. I faked being healthy for a while because I was sick of doctors not know what was wrong with me.

Entering high school, things got worse. Five operations in four years, countless medical testing, many frustrating doctor appointments, ER trips, and extreme pain. After much waiting, tears, and frustration I received my diagnosis of Systemic Lupus Erythematosus.

Lupus is my main illness. For those of you who do not know what Lupus is my short explanation of it is, your immune system attacks bacteria and viruses. My immune system is confused and overly active attacking my organs, tissue, and everything else in my body. There are many symptoms in addition to pain. It is a complex illness that leaves many doctors confused.

Other Illnesses: Lupus hardly ever invades on its own, there are many over lapping illnesses with Lupus. (Right now I’m just going to share the illnesses I personally battle). Asthma, Arthritis, Anemia, Migraines, Osteoporosis, and Kidney Stones are illnesses people have some knowledge of. Raynaud’s phenomenon is a blood circulation issue it makes hands and feet feel like ice. I change various pretty colors including purple, blue, gray, red, and green. Endometriosis is a female disorder in which tissue grows in incorrect places. I had many cysts because of it. Fused Supernumerary Kidney means I’ve got three kidneys, two of which are fused together. Double Collecting System means an extra Ureters mine are twisted around one another. I’m in the process of search for a few more medical answers.

This is a super vague and brief over view of my chronic illnesses. Of course my future posts will be more detailed and interesting. I just wanted to introduce myself. I am excited and honored to share my journey through chronic illnesses with you. Sending Spoons, Hugs, & prayers.

Leave a Reply

