Reclast Update

Written October 28, 2014

I have been out of the hospital for a little over five weeks now. Things have not gone according to plan. My main doctor in the hospital assured me that I would be back to normal (not completely, but back to my normal) within a week or two. However that is not the case. My condition is staying the same; I am not stabilized.

In addition to new symptoms, my existing ones have intensified. I have been told it is unlikely that my new health complications are due to the Reclast. Though that is not my option. I believe Reclast is still making me sick to an extent, I have a year’s worth in my system. I know there is something else that no one had caught onto with my health the Reclast made it worse and brought it to the surface.

I have had extremely high heart rate accompanied by low blood pressure, it is believed that the combination is the cause of me collapsing suddenly. I cannot be on my feet for prolong periods of time. It is frustrating not being able to rely on my body. Currently I cannot be alone for too long, drive, cook, and many other simple tasks.

I saw a great cardiologist about a week ago. He was very knowledgeable and listened. He ordered various tests to hopefully confirm his suspicions of me having POTS. POTS stands for Postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome. It is a disorder of the autonomic nervous system, which controls various functions that the body does involuntarily. It is a complex disorder which can be challenging to treat. Some symptoms include dizziness, fainting, nausea, rapid heart rate, and low blood pressure.

I am a bit anxious to know if I do have POTS. It is scary knowing that there is a possibly the tests will come out negative which scares me more than the illness. I feel knowing what’s wrong is helpful and avoids going around in circles.

Leave a Reply

