War Wtihin

My body has declared a painfully hatred war

Abruptly, opportunity slammed the door

Unprepared for the overwhelming sea of emotions

Will someone give me a reason for devotion?

Not all butterflies are pretty

Fighting a unique battle daily

Finding more strength than imaginable

Longing to be normal

Can anybody hear me?

An icy frighten tear escapes once again

Knowing there is no way I’ll ever mend

Shades of gray surround me

Longing to fly away to somehow become free

Not all butterflies are pretty

Fighting a unique battle daily

Finding more strength than imaginable

Longing to be normal

Can anybody hear me?

It’s worse than the flu on steroids, agonizing deep pain

Realizing I’m locked in these excruciating chains

The monster is awake, destroying all in its path

Let me fall into a deadly sleep to escape its wrath

Doubt consumes me, frustration overflows to tears

Screaming I attempt to give up

Pulling me gently, my friends remind me, I’m never alone

Showering me with encouragement, I continue

Not all butterflies are pretty

Fighting a unique battle daily

Longing to be normal

I am stronger then my illness, I will survive this 

3 thoughts on “War Wtihin

Leave a Reply

