Welcome December

I adore the Christmas season, it is absolutely magical. Beauty overflows all around from stunning lights to warm smiles to traditions and so much more. Christmas carols sweetly fill the air. The Christmas season brings joy as it reassures us gently that things will be okay. It helps us connect with our inner child reminding us of the wonderful Christmas memories. At the same time, it encourages us to move forward filling us with a hope like no other. It unites us with those we hold dear in our hearts. I cherish every aspect of Christmas.

Unfortunately chronic illness and the stressful demands that go with it does not take a holiday. The doctors appointments, treatment, and testing still must be done. Chronic illness tends to complicate things and get in the way of our joy during this season. It is easy to lose focus of the beauty in this season when we are consumed with emotion and pain. When the world seems to be caving in on us and everything seems to be falling apart. Chronic illness isolates us. We feel the effects more so this time of year. Finding a balance between doing things and resting becomes more difficult. For some, this season is depressing, reminding them of all they cannot do.

I hope you are able to take the time to rest and reflect this holiday season. Take to reflect about all the ways you have grown as an individual, all you have accomplished, all the blessings in your life, and everything you have overcome the past few months. You, my friend, have come so far. I am proud of you. You deserve to take time for yourself this busy season. You are an inspiration. Your story is breathtaking and laced with beauty along with encouragement it will change lives. I pray your strength is renewed. The Lord will bless you greatly this season, be open to all he has to offer for you.

I pray you would have a flare free Christmas season. I hope that despite your pain you are able to enjoy this season of blessing. Cherish every moment with those you hold dear to your heart. Hold onto the Christmas spirit. I pray that this season would bless you with little to no pain, plenty of spoons, memories, joy, and love. “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.”

christmas_eve_by_mango84-d5hrhtr

3 thoughts on “Welcome December

  1. Thank you so much for this great article. I really appreciate someone who agrees, the holiday season isn’t just about the gifts, the money, and perhaps food! Ha. If you don’t mind me asking, what kind of a chronic illness are you living with? Some of my very close friends have been dealing with a chronic illness at different times in their lives. How do you find that hope to keep going strong? Again, thanks for the article. I enjoyed it.

    Like

    1. Hello AJ, it is an honor and joy to meet you. I am so excited and grateful that you read my post! Thank you so much for the encouraging comment. My name is Victoria. I’m fairly complex medically. I have Lupus, Asthma, Arthritis, Anemia, Migraines, Osteoporosis, Kidney Stones, POTS, Raynaud’s phenomenon, Endometriosis , & a Fused Supernumerary Kidney.

      It is challenging living with so many illnesses. To be completely honest some days it is difficult to hold on to hope. My mom is very supportive. I am also in online support groups which makes a huge difference. I try to find little reasons to keep fighting. A lot of different small things help renew my hope.

      I know your friends must be so thankful to have you in their lives. So many people want nothing to do with someone who is chronically ill. Thank you for being there for them. Please feel free to pass along my blog and e-mail address to them. If there is anything I can do to help you or them I would love to. I know chronic illness can be overwhelming. Thank you again so much for the nice comment and for reading my post ❤

      Like

      1. Thanks for replying Victoria, it’s nice to meet you!

        You are such a trooper to endure through all of these illnesses, but I am glad you have great people surrounding you that are supporting you. I haven’t been in any intense medical situations such as those, but I do know that when I am going through a hard time, having people to rely on is a lifesaver.

        I hope it’s not too personal of a question, but are you religious at all? I know my chronically ill friends & their families have found much hope through religion.

        Would you mind shooting me an email? elderajhalling@gmail.com – I would love to keep emailing if we possibly could.

        – AJ

        Like

Leave a Reply

