Min Survival Guide

I apologize for disappearing for over a week, my final week of the semester was more demanding then I initially thought.  The past few days have left me weary in many ways. I am delighted to have sometime off, just in time to enjoy the beauty of the next few days.

I am excited to share a special Christmas season post, featuring a friend of mine. Together we racked our brains to give you a min Holiday Survival guide. I adore the Christmas season and every detail that consumes it. It is a time of beauty, a time to cherish, a time to be thankful, and a time to reflect. Compassion, love, and excitement fill the air. Despite my passion for the Christmas season things have drastically been altered do to my health. I have encounter many obstacles during this season.

10846443_626910024085716_4070572470081428818_n

Hi! My name is Meena, I’m almost 18 and I also have chronic pain! I have had 6 back surgeries, I have a different back problem now called spondylolisthesis, fibromyalgia, polycystic ovary syndrome. I think that’s it. Ha. I don’t have many “hobbies” lately but I love to read and watch tv.

What’s your favorite Christmas tradition ?

Meena: My favorite Christmas tradition is watching the Christmas movies! My family and I love them.

Victoria: It is nearly impossible for me to select only one tradition that I favor over the others. Various events that I attend with my church family are dear to my heart. I adore the simple traditions with my family, such as baking cookies, decorating the Christmas tree, leaving a tray full of goodies outside for the animals Christmas eve, and decorating in general.

What’s the biggest challenge of being chronically ill during the Holidays?

Meena: The biggest challenge is having the energy to deal with all the activities. Thankfully I don’t have a big family and it’s just my parents, sister and I, so I don’t have to do too much!

Victoria: I have encountered new challenges this Holiday season due to POTS. Currently I am unable to be on my feet for more then 15 minutes at a time, which complicates basically everything. I am also having trouble singing.

How do you save spoons during the Holiday season?

Meena: I really haven’t learned how to save spoons yet. I just recently learned what it was and it’s made me think. I always push myself too much because I don’t want to disappoint anyone or make them upset.

Victoria: I am always on spoon saving mode. Anytime I am going out I prepare the night before. This includes packing my meds, any other medical stuff, getting out my outfit, make up, and deciding how I will do my hair. I try to sit while getting ready. Taking breaks while I am out is helpful as well. I try to adapt any activity I do. If I bake, I sit while preparing things.

images

What does the Christmas season mean to you?

Meena:  Christmas has always been a time for joy to me. A time to celebrate with family and appreciate what you have in life. I haven’t been so positive these past few years though. Hopefully I can go back to those things.

10805615_613251548784897_3286237185293671839_n

Victoria: Christmas is a season of giving, of reflecting, and cherishing those around you. To me the season overflows with the beauty of the gift that God so humbly  gave to us. We prepare our hearts to rejoice during this season.

What are your Christmas season survival tips?

Meena: I would definitely say try not to push yourself too much. I’m going to try that. Also, I would definitely have some pain relievers on hand for when you are in pain. Oh, and don’t forget to rest when you can!!

Victoria: Pace yourself, rest enough, and get sleep. Balance every thing. Eat right and take your meds. Prepare yourself for big events. Do not wait till the last minute for anything. Keep stress levels down. Cherish and enjoy every moment.

We want to hear from YOU! Share your holiday survival tips with us in the comments. Be sure to check out Meena’s blog: Beautyandpaindiaries.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

