The Past 48 Hours

The past 48 hours have been drenched with blessings as well as apprehension. Yesterday my friend came over, which is a treat. I have been so ill that I hardly see any of my friends or go out with them. Being able to have tea and talk was marvelous. Those couple of hours are something I am immensely grateful for. I cherish the moments I spend with my family and friends.

I received a phone call, moments before my friend left, from the infusion center. The nurse informed me that my infusion was being cancelled because someone neglected to complete paperwork for the insurance company. In addition the nurse told me they had no idea when I could receive my infusion. My insurance company only approves me for my infusion for six months at a time, then it needs to be re-approved. I questioned the doctor as well as two nurses in the infusion room regarding the paper work and was assured that everything was in order, there was nothing I needed to do. It is vital for me to get my infusion on time. The day before and day of my infusion are extremely difficult. I know getting my infusion late- even by a day would throw off my body.

I called my insurance company, even though I was certain there was nothing they could do. Thankfully I was wrong. The person I spoke to was compassionate and was able to speed things up. Even though we did not know this morning if I would be able to receive my infusion, we headed down to the doctors. I made several phone calls on the way down. As I was speaking to the third person at my insurance, the approval went through.

They began my infusion an hour late. Time during the infusion crawled by as my pain intensified. In addition to my Lupus pain I was having terrible abdominal pain from kidney stones.

My doctor moved. Therefore I am now a patient of one of her former co-workers. I dreaded seeing a new doctor. I have encountered many  quacks, uneducated, and disrespectful doctors. My health is very complex it is annoying and sometimes difficult to get a new doctor up to date with everything happening.

To my delight this new doctor had reviewed my records and spoke to my previous doctor. She was also educated about my main illness, eager to assist me, and kind. After much discussion she prescribed Methotrexate.

I feel extremely blessed how the past few hours have unfolded. I never imagined this would happen. I am over joyed and very thankful to begin a new chapter in my treatment plan.

Sending you lots of prayers, spoons, and hugs ❤

*Methotrexate blog post coming soon! Be sure to subscribe this way you don’t miss it.

Leave a Reply

