A New World

I have just stepped into the world of Methotrexate. Though I am a foreigner, I must admit I am excited to be on this journey. Let me back up. I am sure someone is thinking, “What is Methotrexate?” Methotrexate is a medication which falls into the following classifications: Disease Modifying Anti Rheumatic Drug, Immunosuppressants; Antineoplastics, Antimetabolite, Immunomodulators, and Chemotherapy. I’m sure the majority of this list looks Greek to you, just a bunch of medical mumble jumbo.

narniawardrobe

Methotrexate slows down the reproduction of various cells. It also decreases inflammation. It is used to treat diverse illnesses, however it is not completely understood why it improves some illnesses. It is also said to decrease pain and stiffness due to athirst. Methotrexate is used to treat Cancer, RA, Lupus, Psoriasis, IBD, and a handful of additional chronic illnesses. Though many people go on this medication only half of patients improve.

As with any medication, Methotrexate can come with a variety of side effects. Some include: dizziness, drowsiness, headache, nausea, swollen, tender gums, decreased appetite, and hair loss. It is essential to weigh the pros and the cons before beginning any medication. It is also vital to be extremely education this way you know what to expect.

58c56fee0bd9a729bb8f5f9091cea125

When my doctor mentioned Methotrexate, my anxieties about seeing a new doctor melted away. Excitement ran through my veins. I had researched and discussed the possibly of going on this medication a while ago though it seemed unlikely anyone would put me on it. The doctor offered give me information on it and allow me to think about beginning the medication. Consumed with disappointment I informed her that I was educated about this medication. That’s when she decided to begin me on a low dose of Methotrexate. I do believe this is a positive move for me. I feel like this medication will work well with my body. I am hopeful that I will be able to function more the longer I am on it.

hope9-593x348

Currently I take Methotrexate orally, pill form. It also comes in a self-injection, which sounds ideal to me because it gets into your system quicker and there are less side effects. I only take it once a week. I took my first dose Friday night, around 8 pm. I chose to do it on the weekend this way, once school begins again I have time to recover. Most people say it is best to take it at night this way you can ‘sleep off’ the side effects. I agree 110%.

I did have slight anxiety about beginning a new medication, due to the reaction I had to Reclast (https://chronicallyhopeful2014.wordpress.com/2014/10/25/reclast/). I think it is normal to have some anxiety when altering your treatment plan.

I ate dinner around 6 pm then completed my evening routine. I had a few crackers 15 minutes before taking it. I made sure I was comfortable, had anything I could possible need, and relaxed before taking it. . I felt completely fine, until I stood up. Then I began getting dizzy and some nausea began to set in. Fatigue and nausea slowly but steadily increased. An hour and a half after I began getting a head ace, but it was mild. I had peppermint tea to help settle my stomach. Before I went to sleep I was experiencing mild dizziness, headache (6), slight increase in upper abdominal pain, extreme fatigue, nausea (7), and feeling a bit foggy. Two hours after taking Methotrexate I went to bed.

fb3866c4ca70d2c78bfb9575f5814c78

The ‘side effects’ I experienced were not out of the norm for me. Honestly I had expected it to be a lot worse. I have heard that the first two doses are the worse. I think my first dose went very well.

I did not sleep well that night, which is most likely due to the fact that I had my Benlysta treatment that day as well. The following day I experienced a lot of nausea. I did have fatigue however I cannot blame it on the medication because that has been an ongoing issue.

eadd082b698fed8a0f113877ac1f6118

I hope if you are considering beginning this medication that you found this blog post helpful. Please feel free to ask questions. I will be doing a Methotrexate survival guide in the future. Sending spoons, prayers, and hugs. ❤

Leave a Reply

