Dear Lupus

Dear Lupus,

You came into my life abruptly and completely took over. You have stolen a lot from me. You have put me through countless hours of doctor visits, medical testing, and unbearable pain. You dictate my life.

Because of you…

I cannot trust my body

I lose hair

I wake up in the morning with rashes and fresh bruises

I need to rest too much

I had to give up dance

I can no longer enjoy time outdoors

I need to take pills everyday

I cannot hang out with friends

Because of you…

I struggle to write

I have trouble walking on my own too often

I have lost friends

I missed my prom

And other ‘important’ high school events

There are days…

I cannot eat

I drag myself through the day

lifting my tooth-brush is tiring

I cannot stop crying because of you

Though you have caused set backs and heart breaks, I cannot neglect to recognize the positives. You have taught me a number of things. You have helped shape me into the person I am today. I can fake a smile and tell jokes despite my pain. I am more grateful and find tremendous joy in the simple things. I cherish every moment with those I love. I have met inspiriting people.

You will win many battles BUT I am not going down without a fight and ultimately I will win. We will defeat you Lupus.

Sincerely Your Grateful Victim,

Victoria

Leave a Reply

