Book Review

I love to read. At times though it is difficult for me to find a good devotional. I am not a big fan of the yearly devotionals at the moment, not for any particular reason. I received Jesus Today by Sarah Young as a gift. This is probably my favorite devotional. The author talks about herself for a few pages. I found her story relateable and inspiriting. She wrote the book while ill. Later finding out she has Lymes. The only compliant I have is I wish she had written more about her personal journey.

The devotional is for 150 days. The format is lovely, easy to follow, and the devotionals are short. It is ideal for a busy schedule. The way the book is written is unique, it is as if God is speaking directly to you. Everything is aligned with scripture. I feel like a lot of prayer went into writing this book and that the Holy Spirit spoke though Mrs. Young. I have enjoyed every page. I have grown closer to God, connected with him in new ways, and learned a lot.  Each day there are generally three Bible verses written out, which is convent for people on the go. There are pages just with a Bible verse or an encouraging quote as well. I love Mrs. Young’s writing. Once I am complete with this devotional I will be reading another written by her. I strongly recommended this devotional.

Here is one that I enjoyed:

“Trust in Me forever for I am the Rock eternal. It is easy to trust me for awhile-especially when things are going well in your life. But I am calling you to trust in me at all times, no matter what is happening. I understand what a difficult assignment this is and I know that sometimes you will fail this venture. But I continue to love you perfectly even when you don’t succeed. Let this assurance of My unfailing love draw you back to Me-back to trusting Me.

Though your trust is imperfect and unsteady, I am the Rock eternal- absolutely steady and unchanging. You can rely on Me! When your walk through this world feels wobbly, remember that I am your Rock. I always provide a stable place for you to stand. I can easily bear all your weight, including the weight of your problems. So come to Me when you are feeling heavy laden with worries. I invite you to lean on Me-Trusting Me with all your heart and mind. “
“Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. ” Proverbs 3:5 AMP
Share your favorite devotional in the comments 🙂
Leave a Reply

