Brief Update & Summer

Originally I had a lot of blog posts plan for May and Lupus awareness month. Sadly, due to being in the hospital and trying to recover from it, I haven’t been able to blog at all. My body is still drained. I have been battling a lot of weakness and pain still. Sadly my treatment plan has been impacted by my hospital visit. I am no longer on  methotrexate or Benlysta. Not having those meds have negatively impacted me. Currently, I am on a lot of Prednisone. I am thankful for the help from it, but like anyone else I look forward to eventually coming off of it. I do really well on Prednisone in general. The only side effects I encounter are moon face, minor mood swings, trouble sleeping at times, and I clean a lot on it. In perspective, it is excellent. It has also helped me maintain my weight. My weight has stayed the same despite not eating for ten days. I am still seeing a lot of doctors and going through medical testing. Usually one or the other weekly.

Getting my strength back has been a challenge. I feel extremely run down; like I am dragging my body each time I move. I have had to rest so much due to the extreme weakness. Some days I feel as though the only thing I do is rest. It is frustrating.

Yesterday, I finally completed all my work for the semester. I am thrilled. My hope is to be able to work a lot more on my blog now. I am relived to be on break. There is not much I can do this summer due to my health. Because of my Lupus I get extremely sick from the sun which limits me. I will be utilizing my summer to prepare for the fall. I will be going away to school. The school is about an hour from my house, close to other family, and closer to my doctors. I am extremely excited. I have already begun ordering my text books for the fall semester. I enjoy going ahead with my school work. I find it works out best this way if I have a bad day I can rest more without it interfering with my school work. My plan is to read and outline as much as possible for my classes and to listen to related lectures on YouTube. I also have a nice pile of books to read for fun.

Hopefully, I will go back to posting regularly on here. My apologizes for not posting much, especially about Lupus awareness month. Thank you for your understanding. Sending lots of spoons, prayers, and hugs.

Share in the comments your plans for the summer.

Leave a Reply

