Upper Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

Medical testing is a normal part of a spoonie life. Depending on the illness, the progression of the illness, and several other factors determine how often we go for medical testing. On average, I am sure most Spoonies would agree with me that it is too often. I go for blood work a minum of monthly. The majority of the time there is at least one other test my body must endure at some point in time during the month. I feel like there is never enough time to recover between medical tests. Though most tests seem simple, each test is draining on the body.

Tomorrow, I will be going for a Upper Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. Which means, yet another trip to the OR. Over the past five or six years I have had many visits to the OR. A grand total of five surgeries in four years and including tomorrow, eight scopes. The scopes I have had include  Upper Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, Colonoscopy, and Cystoscopy  No one expects to go to the OR. It is always dreaded. But you do what you’ve gotta do, in order to get better, to move forward, and to get answers.

download (1)

Going for my follow up Gastro appointment, I never would have thought the doctor would even think of rather along mention another scope. I recently had a colonoscopy while on vacation in the hospital. I am less then thrilled about another scope, but I do understand the doctors reasoning. My stomach is still swelling, nausea, not much apatite, and I am still having intense pain, too often. The doctor wants to make sure that there are no ulcers in my stomach, no blockage, and no gall stones. Despite the fact that I lost my gall bladder nearly two years ago, there is a chance that in the liver or one of the ducks a stone left behind causing trouble.

For those of you who do not know what an Upper gastrointestinal endoscopy is, I will give you a quick over view. WebMD defines an Upper gastrointestinal endoscopy: ” is a procedure that allows your doctor to look at the interior lining of your esophagus , your stomach, and the first part of your small intestine through a thin, flexible viewing instrument called an endoscope. The tip of the endoscope is inserted through your mouth and then gently moved down your throat into the esophagus, stomach, and duodenum (upper gastrointestinal tract).”

EGD

My procedure will be done in a hospital as an out patient. It will take a least an hour. They will be performing an internal ultra sound during the procedure as well. I will be asleep the entire time, praise God.

I have gone through a lot of medical testing and medical stuff. For me knowing step by step what will occur eases my anxiety. Even so the day of most of my procedures I get pre-opt jitters. Going under anesthesia is nerve racking for most people. I have been known to freak out a bit on the way to the OR. Once on the way to the OR for surgery I asked the same question so many times the doctor told the nurse to make me shut up. Hey, no one likes seeing the OR.

Overall, I am not anxious about the procedure. This will be my third Upper gastrointestinal endoscopy, therefore I know what to expect. At least I’ll get a nice nap. Due to the fact that I am on steroids, I am not expecting them to find much.

images

2 thoughts on “Upper Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

  1. It’ll be fine sugar. It’s as routine as a teeth cleaning nowadays. However yes I do understand those jitters. I’m praying they locate and correct what is making you uncomfortable. Stay faithful and let’s pray that God guides this doctor directly to the problem so it can be fixed. Now pray again that the Doctor is paying attention. Lol. 💞💓hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

