Prednisone Part Three

FALUrsula

The many side effects of prednisone complicates our already mixed up lives. Coping with them can present challenges. I am here to share a few simple tips of coping with prednisone side effects.

Humor is helps me cope with being chronically ill. Someone once said, “If you’re not laughing, you’re crying.” And as we all know laughter is the best medication. I have always had a unique sense of humor. You either understand my jokes and find me funny or you just think I’m weird- well either way you might think I’m weird. Prednisone is easy to make fun of, which is why countless do so in the online spoonie world. From pictures to songs prednisone humor is plentiful. I feel humor helps us find a sense of normalcy in the chaos of illness.

I love to talk. Some times I just talk even if there is nothing to talk about, endlessly blabbering. Talking is a great way to cope with the emotional monster chained up inside of you from prednisone. Family and friends provide support that cannot be put into words, so priceless and beautiful. In addition to their vital and irreplaceable support, I recommend finding a prednisone support group. I am a huge fan, overall of online support groups. Connecting with other spoonies gives you a different perspective, inspiration, and support in a unique way.

1c2fdf383947470481026a1efb38cb2d

a562e376992459a76a91bfd0168d6534

Are you on prednisone? Have you meet the emotional terror monsters evil twin… Cravings? If not you can receive your prednisone cravings and out of control hunger for free.

Hunger and cravings are another monster of prednisone. I don’t know about other people, but most times I do not get truly hungry, I just feel like eating or have cravings. Either way it is another obstacle for many. I face the obstacle of not having many things I can eat therefore I give into my cravings about 90% of the time. I do not recommend this what so ever, I know it’s not the best habit to be in. You already know that you need to eat healthy. It is more important now being on prednisone. The way your body is processing and absorbing food is different then your normal. For example you need to make sure to get enough calcium, potassium, and vitamin D. Lower the amount of sodium you eat. Find foods that are healthy and filling. Of course plenty of water is a must.

How do you cope with Prednisone?

Leave a Reply

