Chronic Illness & Summer

00f4bbe4506ad9bb8cc5c97f324e2c4f

Summer became my favorite season as a teenager. The break from school was nice, but the adventure of summer was the most appealing aspect. Having the time to be outside more to hiking, swing, and go swimming. Just about every summer as a teen I went away with my church. From mission trips to camp to a pilgrimage in Taize.

Having Lupus has changed my relationship and view of summer. It is nice, but it is something that I would rather not deal with. I have severe sun sensitivity. Worst then the average Lupie. With in minutes of being in the sun, I begin to feel ill.  Sometimes even being in the car when the sun is out makes my symptoms worse. Currently I avoid the sun as much as possible, it is the only thing that works. Sun screen does not help me, though it makes a huge difference for many people with Lupus.

If you are sun sensitive be sure to take Vitamin D. Know your limits with Lupus. If you can be in the sun for an hour, just do an hour. Don’t push yourself more then your body can handle because that can and most likely will push you into a flare up.

CB_XaVuWIAAo-fc

This will be my first summer with POTS. Dehydration is a concern for anyone in the summer, but even more so if you have POTS. People with POTS become dehydrated easily. The past few weeks I have been battling dehydration. My best advice for other POTies is to drink lots of water and Gatorade. The electrolytes are needed. Though I am new to the POTS world, I would advise people with POTS to be careful in the heat. Too much heat can cause someone to become dizzy and pass out. Again it is essential to find balance with any illness and summer.

What challenges do you face in the summer with your chronic illness? How do you cope with the challenges?

Leave a Reply

