Methotrexate Update

Beginning classes has been more demanding on my body than I had anticipated. College has sucked the spoons right out of my grip. New classes, new symptoms, and new challenges. The delicate balancing act is always being reshaped. Determining where the line is between pushing a little further and pushing to hard is complex, because the silly line keeps moving.

I am fairly certain this is the most stable my health has been sense I began college. By no means does that mean I am able to run a marathon or doing anything crazy. Realistically, daily activities are still a struggle. I saw my doctor the week I began school. The goal is to come down to 25 mg of Prednisone. Additionally, she increased the Methotrexate by 4 or 5 mg. For this particular medication that is a jump. This jump has it’s perks. I was moved to the self injection. Yes. You read correctly, I did say that the self injection medication is a positive thing. No I haven’t lost my mind and I do not like needles. My body goes through periods of times when it doesn’t absorb most of what is put into it. It has been questioned several times how much of my medication I am actually absorbing. Overall absorption is not a key issue currently.

The last time I had seen my doctor she wanted me to take some of the Methotrexate in the morning. It was to rough on my body to break in up over twelve or more hours. I could tell she was hesitant switching me to the injection. With my medical history I don’t blame her. At the same time, I know my body and the majority of the time what is best. I have complete confidence that the switch to the injection is what is right for me currently.

I did not receive a decent lesson on how to do the injection. I am not positive the person who showed me knew how to do it. She showed me how to fill the syringe. When we picked up my meds and supplies from the Pharmacy the well meaning pharmacist increased my anxiety. He told me the needle should go in at a specific angle. My first though was oh no, I am gonna mess this up, I am terrible at math! Needles? No big deal. Math? I’d like to run away.

I was nervous like any other person doing my first injection. I finally got up the nerve to get it over with and did the injection. I knew something was wrong. At first I thought it was an allergy to the needle. I got a bit puffy and yellow at the injection sight. Once the needle was out I got extremely dizzy. I laid down for five minutes and the dizzy spell passed. After worrying my head off I realized that I didn’t put the needle in deep enough which is why the sight was puffy and yellow (The medication is yellow. Someone said it looks like pee… which isn’t a lie lol). The following day I felt sick and extremely tired.

I did my second injection last Friday. It went much better. The meds sting towards the end of the injection. I do premedicate my self. The side effects were very minimal.

I have had a lot of medication changes with steroids and chemo. It is demanding on my body and emotions. Being ill is equivalent most times to having a full time job.

Leave a Reply

