‘Tis the for midterms, testing, and finals. Tests were never my favorite part of school. Testing has become more of  challenge because of my illness. Brain fog interrupts as well as symptoms. Ideal testing conditions rarely happen, but I have learned to work through it. I am going to share with you a few spoonie academic testing survival tips.

635802184628041742-352840102_resize

Prior to the test gather as much information as you can about the test. The more information the better this way you can plan accordingly.  How many questions? What type of questions (multiple choice, essay, fill in the blank, ect…)  How long is the test? Are you able to retake the test? This question is outside of  the norm, but I have taken two math classes that allow the student to retake quizzes as many times as they want.

If you are receiving accommodations make  your professor is aware of this and applies them. I get extra time. However, none of my professor remember this. I always send out an e-mail before the first test reminding them of my accommodations.

Where are you testing? Do you need to schedule to test some where different? Most schools offer somewhere other than the classroom to take tests if you receive accommodations.This is a great option. When I tested in a different room I was by myself or with under five other people, therefore it is much quitter.

If you  are testing at home it is important to set up your testing space effectively. Personally, I test in my room. I usually aim to take my tests in the morning. If the test is open notes I spread out everything I need. Of course I have additional material such as a calculator or text book or paper and pens near by.

I have my just in medication which includes my tachycardia medication, nausea medication, Tylenol, and my inhaler. I always have a minim of two drinks; hot tea and water. If you have POTS consider having Gatorade on hand.

For longer tests I have a snack on hand. My heating pad is never far away. I set everything up at my dresser (more or less it is my second desk). I am able to put my feet up on another chair if needed. I am able to sit on the floor or my bed. I also get up and walk around during my test because of back pain. Depending on the test and pain levels I either walk a few feet to my door or down stairs to my kitchen. Walking around helps relive some pain and helps lift some of the brain fog.

I always wear compression stocking. Comfortable clothing. I also have a sweat shirt and blanket near by. Testing at home allows me to control the temperature in the room which effects POTS symptoms.

If symptoms get intense know what to do. If you pass out, once you are stable who can you call and inform about what happened? Or if you end up ‘locked’ in the bathroom because of IBD (or another illness).

a41b13dcc74b5469b9aa8b0860b73eef

I still have not come close to mastering any skills that assist with brain fog and testing. Please comment any ideas!

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

