Saying No

They tell you that you have rights as a patient. That you and your doctor are on the same level. That is not always reality. If you disagree many times a doctor will get upset. As paticents we are expected to do what we are told. Most times our options are not taken into consideration. Many doctors assume that we do not understand what is going on at all and that we are uneducated. If we know something, they are shocked questioning why we know it and how we got the information. No offense but in this day and age acquiring knowledge is simple- it’s called the internet.

I have gone through countless medical testing all with an optimistic attitude. I smile though all the pain and attempt to make jokes (of course most people don’t find me funny). I understand that people are doing their job and I am doing mine to the best of my ability. Of course I vent in the car or at home. I have always been submissive and respectful. Taking everything the doctor says into consideration, even if I disagree.

At times I have been a gunie pig. I have went through testing that could have been avoided. I understand that many times testing is needed but it is draining, costly, and time consuming. A face biopsy is where I draw the line. I had my first biopsy last fall. I still have not healed completely from it. It might sound vein but I do not want a dark ugly scar on the middle of my face. My body has endured many procedures. It has never truly had a break. From age fourteen to twenty one every few months, it has been something. I know it is important to take care of myself. I feel apart of that is allowing my body to have a break from any invasive test. A time for it to rest, recover, and heal from the combat.

It is not easy telling your doctor that you disagree with them. They hold the power to diagnose you and they dictate your treatment plan thus they have a lot of power over your life. With a proper diagnosis and treatment plan you can function and have a life, with out it…. It is a miserable road of endless resting and searching for answers.

Leave a Reply

