Thanksgiving

I simply adore Thanksgiving. It is by far my second favorite holiday. My family and I do not do anything over the top, however, the day is golden to me. I spend the morning watching the Macy’s day parade and making some sort of craft; usually a blanket. Then I get ready, which consumes the majority of my spoons. Our neighbors come over and we have a lovely traditional Thanksgiving dinner which is anything but quiet.

Thanksgiving Day is a magnificent day in which we gather with those we cherish to celebrate all the blessings the fill our lives. When we sit down to reflect on our blessings we noticed how much we have and often times how much we take for granted.

As a chronically ill twenty-one-year-old, my gratitude list is anything but typical. I am grateful I have a diagnosis, decent doctors, insurance, and a treatment plan. I am thankful for the online support groups that I am a part of, for my family, church family, and my mom. I am thankful beyond words that I have not been in urgent care for seven months now! Spoonie victory right there. I am thankful for being admitted in April. I am thankful for the slow progress I am making. Yes, there are countless negative attributions of my invisible fight, but I am sincerely and deeply grateful to be in this fight. First of all, I am grateful because I believe that God will use my invisible fight for his glory. Through my invisible fight, I have matured as a person and as a Christian. I have learned so much. I have meet some of the most inspiring people. I have had the honor of running Chronically Hopeful.

I hope you cherish this precious Thanksgiving day. I pray you see the blessings in your beautiful life. I hope you find joy today and comfort as you spend the day with those you love. Sending Thanksgiving Day Spoons, prayers, and hugs. Please share in the comments what you are thankful for.

Leave a Reply

