Holiday Outing Tips

Being chronically ill, an individual gets stuck at home often. Going out, at least for me, is just for a doctor appointment, church, or food shopping. Therefore, going out or having friends over is extremely exciting. It is extremely draining as well.

It is best to go into spoon saving mode when attending holiday events. The night before getting everything together, the more you can accomplish the night before the better. Pick out your outfit, anything you need to do your hair and makeup. I take everything I will need out. My bag is packed, shoes on a shelf (so I don’t need to bend), socks unfolded, and braces in place.

If you are going out, how long will you be out?

What medical supplies will you need to bring? No matter where I go, I always bring a makeup bag packed with things I need. Personally, when going out I bring my inhaler, icy hot, chap stick, nausea medication, Benadryl, and any medication I take as needed. I also put my daily pills in an old pill bottle. My oversized water bottle goes everywhere with me. Sometimes, I carry tea bags as well. You might consider bringing hand warmers, gloves, and braces. Depending on your illness think about bringing extra clothing and toilet paper (some public restrooms run out).

Consider how long the car ride will be. When my fingers aren’t swollen I bring my crocheting stuff. I always have a blanket as well.

Make sure there is food that is okay for you. Personally, I do not drink alcohol. If  you are of drinking age it is so important to discuss this with your doctor. It is great to try to be as normal as possible, but it is not worth flaring for the remainder of the season. It alone can cause flares or interact with medication.

I hope you find this post helpful and that you are able to go out and have fun this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

