The Spoonie Life:An Update

It feels like the semester that will never end. My last final is this Tuesday. My symptoms have been flaring. Brain fog is heavy. I frequently forget what I am doing. Or just become confused for a few seconds. At times, my thinking is slower with pain or fevers. It is hard to let go of perfection; to accept doing my best with school. I know I have put in a lot of effort.

Frustration with the spoonie life, specifically with doctors is setting in…again. At times, I feel like I am screaming yet no one  can hear me. I present with scary symptoms. Everyone agrees I am sick yet no one will help me. Sorry Doc, feel better doesn’t cut it. I know I am not a typical case, it is going to take some extra work and I am sorry, but it is out of my control. I would love to be a cookie cutter patient, but that is not my reality.

I have three doctors with three different options and no real plan currently. Last week I had several frustrating conversations. The ‘head’ doctor for my abdominal issues called me yet he was not quiet long enough for me to speak. He wanted to do a scope. I hesitated. I have had over half a dozen scopes in a few short years. I had questions. I firmly believe as a patient you should have a say in what medical testing you have and you should have all the information up front. I explained to my other two doctors that if I absolutely need a scope that is fine, after Christmas. Monday, the one doctor told me it is unsafe to do a scope due to my pain (I don’t think that is a legit reason. I’ve had scopes while in more pain). For now, I have a CT with barium and contrast in a few days, nothing fancy. I am praying it will give them what they want in order to move forward with treatment.

Sometimes, I want to jump off of steroids as fast as I can, like ripping off a band-aid. I’d like to think it would make things simpler. But my body freaks out and that makes me nervous. I want to be off. No one has a plan of action or anything in the event that my liver go nuts and my body begins to shut down…again. Being stuck is frustrating.

Leave a Reply

