New Year’s

2015 is drifting into our history. Countless changes and surprises transpire in a year; things that we would never dream happened. We have become better versions of ourselves; a step close to who God created us to be.

I hope as you reflect you detect the beauty from the pain. Though reflecting is wonderful, it can also negatively impact us. Slipping into harping on the negative events is easy to unknowingly do. It is hard to be joyful with a chronic illness, if, like most of us, the majority of your goals were not accomplished, and you are not even a breath closer to the dream that sets your heart on fire.

Acknowledging the negativities and let downs is fundamental, but we need to also need to gracefully be thankful for the countless positivities.

10858498_626964667413585_741464132227502910_n

If you follow Chronically Hopeful, you most likely know that the biggest event of my year was being admitted to the hospital last April due to elevated live enzymes and a severe Lupus flare. So, yes the most important thing I accomplished in 2015 is surviving. Every day is a struggle, still, but every day I’m grateful. It is hard to evaluate how I am doing in comparison to last  year. I am somewhat stronger, however, things are not where I need them to be. But I am determined to take steps forward towards less pain and a more normal life- whatever that might be.  You are not alone if you are battling similar health battles.

10580106_630091727100879_1333741413345155415_n

Making a New Years Resolution is more of a fad mixed with tradition. ‘Everyone’ is making them. No one is actually keeping them. By the time January is ready to make a graceful exit, resolutions have fallen away like a tear drop in the ocean.

I usually do not make New Years Resolutions. I can barely plan out this week without becoming utterly overwhelmed due to the fact that I don’t know how I will feel on any given day. I find that I personally do better setting a bunch of goals versus one big yearly goal. I have been compleating making a New Years Resolution. I have decided to set several goals including reading through as much of the Bible (cover to cover style),  to improve Chronically Hopeful specifically get 50 readers, and to improve things with my health.

So, what does the Spoonie New Years Resolution call for?

Flexibility: Make your resolution broad.

Realistic: Dreaming big is awesome, but keep your goals in your reach. Jump outside your comfort zone without putting your health at risk. You want to set yourself up for success.

Accountability: Share your resolution or goals with someone else. Allow them to hold you accountable. A little accountability goes a long ways.

Share some of your New Year’s reflections or resolutions in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

