Hospital Vacation

I have decided to share some aspects of my hospital visit. I am going to split this into a few different posts. Excuse my scattered brain if I seem to jump around.

Although winter break is finally in our mists as college students, chronic illness does not surrender momentary in search of a time of rejuvenation. My chronic illnesses thought it needed to make this point clear.

I am in a constant battle with the Prednisone taper. Finally down to five mg; it’s a love-hate tug a war. I have been steadily getting worse for about two weeks as of last Saturday. Attempting each day to tough it out and make it through the day as I counted the days until my doctor’s appointment.

Not much was different about last Saturday. I was able to eat a tiny bit of this and that which was a victory for me. Even so, my appetite decreased going into the early afternoon. I didn’t want to drink not to mention the thick fatigue fog consuming me along with the pain.

Spoonies know you avoid the ER after any holiday if possible. My mom and I thought it was best to go to make sure my liver enzymes didn’t spike. After two hours of uncomfortably waiting, I got a hallway ER bed, talk about the lack of privacy.

Living with a chronic illness, you learn to tune out some of the pain in order to function. I was in a lot of pain. I didn’t register the intensity of the pain until everyone began pressing on my stomach. (Tummy ache? Let’s press on it… Yea doc that makes it worse). Things ran slow. They ordered typical blood work along with a CT and X-Ray.

As someone rushed passed my bed I was handed labs and reports. I scanned them, nothing alarming…yet. The doctor passed me shortly mumbling something about going upstarts, which made no sense to me. The doctor wanted me to see a surgeon to be on the safe side. They admitted me for pain management and observation.

Of course, over the course of my stay, a sea of doctors flooded my room. Some helpful others just frustrating. Even with a diagnosis, I am still considered a complex case, a medical mystery.

The nurses at the hospital I go to are excellent. The nurses are one of the reason, I love this hospital. They offer encouragement, assistance, and support. I think Spoonies make friends with nurses fairly easily. While I was waiting to be discharged I was hanging out with my nurse.

In addition, I had a patient liaison. Having him on my case, in addition, proved a lot of comfort. I had never heard of a patient liaison. This is an advocate, they can provide information,  conversation, and support.

20160106_155331

I slept a lot in the hospital. I  was extremely grateful to have a private room and bathroom.

Leave a Reply

