Hospital Part 2

Part two more or less of my hospital stay. I apologize it is all over the place.

I had two strange nose bleeds. I have had more nose bleeds in my life than I can count but these were different. My second one happen 4 am. I got blood everywhere in my bathroom, it poured out uncontrollably. I am anemic currently so I feel that it is related.

20160104_193308

I had a repeat colonoscopy last Tuesday.  The picture above is my special drink. I usually do Miralax for colonoscopies. I found this solution to work quicker, be less painful, and taste somewhat better. I did get dizzy.  This one is called go lightly. I got the solution late in the day and was still nauseated so my nurse told me to drink as much as I could without making myself sick. I got more than half down.

I had been given my insomnia medication the night before the scope. I usually don’t take it at home and I had forgotten why until I had an emotional meltdown directly after the scope. I didn’t get much sleep the night before and woke up too soon after the scope. I wasn’t crying because my colon has healed somewhat. I was crying because I was scared of not being taken seriously and being taped in this abdominal flare up. I know the pain levels need to come down in order for me to function better. Apparently not everyone understands that humans have emotions. Someone had told my mom that I need a psychiatrist. I get extremely irritated when people dismiss me or downplay my pain and symptoms.

I believe that crying can be helpful in coping with an illness and life in general. Medication can also play into emotions. I have had people tell me I need a better attitude when I am doubling over in pain at the doctors office. No one smiles 24/7.

The IV fluids were my best friend. It makes a huge difference. I ran low-grade fevers off and on as well.

20160106_162747

I was discharged late on the 6th. I have only been home a few days, my body is still trying to adjust. Last night I wasn’t able to sleep. I started having IBS/IBD symptoms 4 am. Therefore, Saturday was  difficult. I had a lot of nausea. I couldn’t take any of my meds until 1 pm. The doctor had been talking about readmitting me, but I don’t feel that is necessary at this point.

I see a newish Gastro Friday. We are hopeful that she will be able to help. I am still randomly bruising and bleeding. I am able to eat some. Grateful for the small improvements. Thank you to everyone who prayed for me when I was in the hospital.

 

Leave a Reply

