Snow Day Update

We are getting all the snow we have missed earlier in the season where I live. My mom and I heard it could keep snowing until Monday. You never know with the weather. I am thrilled that my family is safely inside. I pray that you are safe and warm this snowy Saturday.

12528034_1713292552247072_1145895465_n

The snow has never affected my pain levels- until this storm. Last February I had a POTS episode where I got hurt from passing out apparently aggravating and changing how my POTS reacts to things. This morning was a bit difficult including back pain and a migraine. Like many Lupies, my doctors question if Fibromyalgia is a part of my pain. Some doctors tend to blame everything on Fibro and downplay another illness causing chaos. Let’s be real it can only do so much and the medical field does not have enough education on it. I know many of you struggle with Fibro and my heart goes out to you. It is my prayer that doctors will take us more seriously and that more research will be conducted and better treatment will be put into place. Jumping back to POTS for a moment I did experience two simple falls recently irritating each hip. I am wondering if it could be weather related.

I wasn’t planning on the mini Fibro rant but it is relevant. Anyways. Update time. I have been out of the hospital for a while now. This second I am feeling great (Compliments of Tramadol).  I have seen a new Gastro. I am hopeful and a bit nervous about the switch but it absolutely needed to be done. The doctor was ready to put a new treatment plan into place and get things under control. I am back up on Prednisone, 25 mg. When I saw her about a week ago she also prescribed a Chemo. Two Chemos and Steriods seems like a lot to me. The option is excellent but not ideal. I have already had issues with my blood counts. Therefore, I have been researching other options. After hours of insurance calls, I have the name of a medication that does not interact with any of my other meds. It is a general anti-inflammatory. My hope is the doctor will agree to give it a shot. Either way, I am looking at about two months or more for the medication to begin working.

Either way, I am looking at about two months or more for the medication to begin working. The plan is to be off Steriods sometime in March. The combination of two Chemos and Steriods made me extremly emotional. Every little thing was giving me excessive anxiety. All I wanted to do was cry. And I did do that.

The increase has been a blessing. I am able to eat some and drink plenty. I can feel the difference now that my body is absorbing food and medication. I have less weakness.

Before the increase of steroids, my injection was making me feel sick. I am so grateful that it went much better last night. I look forward to the day that I am on a more stable treatment plan. It can also be nerve racking at the time thinking about life off of steroids. More than anything I want to be off. At the same time I know in my heart my body will be much different. It won’t be the same as before Prednisone. It will take time to adjust.

1422210762n95cs

Outside of the health roller coaster, I have been reading and focusing on Chronically Hopeful on Facebook. I got a 20 dollar gift certificate for Logos for my birthday. I think it is awesome. I got two books and a Bible Magazine.

Weather permitting, I will begin school Monday. I am taking History, Effective Speaking, Forensics, and Spanish.

Leave me a comment below, share how you are doing, what’s new and if you’re in college what classes you have this semester.

2 thoughts on “Snow Day Update

  1. I just want you to know that I enjoy your blog and Facebook page very much. I pray for you in starting a new semester! I am a fellow POTSie with fibro and other chronic challenges. I’m excited to be taking a class at church starting next week. It’s called a Coffee Cup Counseling.

    God bless you!

    Gina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gina, it is a pleasure to meet you. You comment means a lot to me. Thank you so much! You are an amazing warrior! ❤ Thank you so much for your prayers. That sounds so exciting! Please let me know how the class goes. God Bless and have a great day! Victoria

      Like

Leave a Reply

