Silence So That…

Just a note before I begin, this post goes with the book Living So That By Wendy Blight and is specifically written for the online Bible study that I have the honor of assisting with.   With that being said, even if you are not in the study and have never read the book I strongly encourage that you read this post.

Are you going through the motions in your prayer life? I know life is super busy, your lucky that you have a few spare moments for a quiet time. We know that prayer is a dialog, not a monolog that we are so often tempted to have. We know from the Bible that God speaks to His people. He speaks to us in many ways such as dreams(Joseph), the Bible, other people(Moses spoke to Pharaoh) , an audible voice (Samuel or Moses), or a gentle nudge at the heart.

To sit with the Lord in prayer is powerful. Putting anxiety to rest and our chaotic thoughts to rest. Just being present in The Savior’s arms. Allow Him the chance to renew you. Allow Him the chance to speak to your heart.

photo-1427435150519-42d9bcd0aa81.jpg

Around the time I was seventeen years old I had the privilege to travel to Taize. Taize is a retreat also known as a pilgrimage with over 5,000 teens and young adults from around the world held in France. This is where I encountered silence. This is where I encountered God’s nudge on my heart. This is where I encountered a deeper relationship with Christ. Worship was three times a day accompanied by eight minutes in silence.

Towards the end of my stay there, our Bible study leader asked us to spend an hour in silence. Let’s experiment and see what it’s like to spend an hour in silence.

281242_260035020674604_7129908_n

StEtienneTaize05

 

Just kidding! That never gets old. I know the look on your face was priceless. Anyways back to my story. After being told to go find a place to spend in silence, I ventured down to a place called the source. Its beauty is breathtaking. When you breathe in it’s as if you are breathing in peace and when you breath out along with the breath that escapes your lungs all your worries vanish too.

The time there flew by. That is where I let go of many things. Surrendering the future and letting go of the past.  Where God called me into ministry, though I am learning that word is used to describe so much more than pastoring. I cannot fully captive in words my experience with God in silence. The peace surpasses all understand. The joy is unthinkable.

photo-1467318289505-c20a45d62429.jpg

God speaks to us today. We need to have ears that hear and we must be intentional in seeking His voice. “Planned times of quiet and solitude are a good balance to a busy life. Cultivating a heart of prayer helps you see God’s perspective and to more fully experience His presence throughout the day.”

My challenge to you precious friend is for you to take two to five minutes of silence at least once this week. Silence is a break from the chaos of life, a chance to reconnect with God, and to worship Him in a new way.

16 thoughts on “Silence So That…

  1. This is BEAUTIFUL! It blesses my soul down to the deepest places to see how God is speaking to you through His Word and through the teachings He laid on my heart in the pages of Living So That. What I love even more is not only seeing how He spoke to your heart, but then seeing how your heart has processed it and is now pouring it out in a fresh way into the hearts of others. You are gifted teacher, sweet friend. Thank you for stepping out in faith and leading these studies. I never imagined all those years ago in all those prayers I prayed as I wrote LST that THIS would be the fruit. I LOVE IT!!

    Blessings,

    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Wendy. You have no idea how much your comment means to me and encourages me! Your words really encourage me to continue seeking God and hopefully teaching others. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

      Like

Leave a Reply

