Thanksgiving

Crips fall beauty lingers in the air as people hurry to prepare. Nature adorn in the finest hue crafting an elegant view. Thankfulness consumes each heart uniquely setting people apart.

An individual’s definition of thankfulness is transformed when chronic illness enters their life. Simple things possess deep pleasure. Such as a walk in the park or a phone call with a friend. The delicacy of life is illuminated. Cherishing moments with those they adore is vital. Laughter is treasured.

A person’s list of blessings is as exclusive as their heartbeat, which is especially true of someone with a chronic illness. Generalizing thankfulness in the chronic illness world is nearly impossible, so I will share a few blessings of my own.  I am grateful for my medical team. I have made progress from the time I entered this facility. This is the best hospital I have been at. I am deeply blessed for the chance to be on Remicade. Though I don’t like being on medication, I am grateful to have it and for the help it provides. I am thankful for the friends I have made. The support that I have. The lessons I have learned from chronic illness.  I am thankful beyond words for the chance to continue my education at Liberty University online. I feel spoiled with the resources available to me. Fiction books provide a way of coping with pain and I have been blessed recently by Karen Kingsbury’s books.

These are a few examples of blessing from my life as a chronic illness warrior. I hope Thanksgiving day is a day you can cherish. One that is consumed with love, laughter, joy, and spoons. I pray the pain levels are low and the symptoms are few. Happy Thanksgiving Warriors!

Leave a Reply

