The Pain:IBD

The topic today is pain with IBD. I don’t like talking about my pain. On the other hand, it is a part of raising awareness. Physical pain is a part of my daily life. It has improved with medication. I was taught the pain scale at a young age. Zero being no pain at all and ten being the worse pain of your life which is usually equivalent to giving birth. On a good day, it is a five or six on the pain scale. An average day is an eight.

Simple things like eating can throw me into a flare. A bad day it’s a ten hands down. When it is that intense I know there is a 50% chance it is a flare and a 50 % chance that I am in big trouble (shutting down, a tear in the intestine, or something collapsed). The pain at times is so intense it sends me to my knees doubled over screaming bloody murder. Fighting back tears, I attempt to smile and go back to whatever I was doing before the wave of intense pain hit. The intensity is beyond words.

I’ve adjusted to the pain to a degree. However, there are times that the symptoms are nerve racking and the pain is too much to deal with. It is challenging being a college student and learning how to navigate daily life while being chronically ill. At times it feels as though the pain just becomes more intense. Each medication you try you pray is the miracle medication, your breakthrough medication so that you can go back to living even to a degree.

Coping with intense pain is a challenge. An individual needs to learn when it is time to call the doctor or head to the ER.  I have the habit of walking around the house a lot when the pain levels are high. Reading fiction, if I can focus really assists in coping with the pain. In addition, I talk with my mom or my friends who are chronically ill. Sometimes I journal prayers or just write. I also clean while listening to sermons or Youtube videos. I don’t sit still very well. Once in a while I will cave and watch television. I don’t love television. Personally, if I spend too much time watching it I feel like I have wasted time. I also go on Pinterest if it is late at night..

How do you cope with physical pain?

Leave a Reply

