Emotional Health: IBD

Personally, I don’t like the words mental health. I feel like it has a negative perspective in society and is associated with more or less being crazy. I prefer the term emotional health, yes I am aware there isn’t much difference but that’s what I call it. Anyways. This post isn’t about which term is better. Today should have been yesterday’s post but the day slipped away from me. We are talking about emotions and IBD. There are dozens of aspects of emotions with chronic illness in general. I am going to just survey this topic in this post and attempt to keep it short.

Everyone is unique in their illness and emotional health. When a person gets emotional sometimes, the medical field blames everything on the emotions not acknowledging it’s a balance. From a clinical point of view, personally, I have low scale anxiety. I had clinical depression as an adolescent, but do not right now. That does not mean I don’t feel depressed at times. It means it isn’t a chronic aspect of my battle that impacts daily life. Most medical professionals cannot understand why I am not mentally unstable, but I say go with it.

Medications impact emotional health as well. Last year, I went through a season where I had no emotions. At least that’s what it felt like. I had went into survival mode than high doses of Prednisone and my emotions went on vacation.  In addition, medication can change how you look which in turn impacts your emotional state.

Even though I am not diagnosed with severe emotional disorders, it doesn’t make the emotions easier to cope with. There are countless emotions that come with medications. Tons of stress and frustration from doctors. The isolation of illness. Not to mention the anxiety that is through the roof. Anxiety with where are the bathrooms. Will I have an accident? Will I be alone forever? How am I going to work? Will it ever get better?Logically I can answer these questions but during an anxiety attack logic only gets you so far.

Learning how to cope is a journey with emotional and physical health. Talk with someone you trust or write. Releasing the emotions is helpful. Being creative is good for emotional health. Many people draw, color, or listen to music. I am a fan of online support groups as well as raising awareness for my illnesses. The Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation also has helpful resources for mental health. In addition, you can check out this Patients Discuss Impact of IBD on Mental Health video. Lastly, a big key to my stability is my faith. It does not necessarily cure an emotional disorder but it makes it more manageable.

 

when-you-feel-not-good-enough.jpg

Leave a Reply

