2016 Major Moments

Another Christmas races through our lives. The season always slips by in a blink of an eye. Shortly after another year kisses us goodbye. This year is elegantly coming to a close and we are able to once more reflect on the moments which have shaped the year. Each year shapes our lives and our character. Each year we learn, grow, are filled with love and joy, and shed many tears.

This year began with a shaky start for me. A few short days after the new year, I was admitted to the hospital due to extreme pain levels. They admitted me to the surgery floor fearing my intestines collapsed or did something funky. I had two Gastros on my case who bickered back and forth accomplishing nothing. I meet another Gastro while admitted who became a permanent asset to my medical team. We tweaked my treatment plan.

My Ulcerative Colitis continued to flare. Sending me to the ER after over eight hours of vomiting. Steroid doses were up and down. At the same time, I began my first online Bible study. Featuring the book I Know His Name by Wendy Blight. I honestly, I little hope for learning anything from the study and went into it with some doubt due to bad experiences in the past. However, God deeply blessed me beyond my dreams. He used that study to change my life forever. Shortly after, I joined God-Living Girls a support group for women with chronic illness and chronic pain.

51AYU0TApWL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Shortly after, I joined God-Living Girls a support group for women with chronic illness and chronic pain. I adore this support group. There are many thriving ministries online. I encourage women of all ages to check it out here God Living Girls.

 

13434699_10209912359472350_1436043053636407570_n
Sadie watching a sermon from our Online Chruch 

 

 

In April I was nominated for the Psychology honor society, better known as Psi Chi. Then in May I graduated with my Associate degree. Shortly after, I began leading Online Bible Study. In addition, assisting in online ministry.  I mainly assist in running two Bible Studies and do a Bible Study Live event about once a week.

I began pursuing my bachelor’s degree at Liberty University Online in August. I adore the online program here. To my surprise, I have thrived in the program beyond my dreams. I have access to tutoring, an advisor, and the library. Additionally, I began assisting with Sunday school at church. I teach the teens, however, if I don’t have kids, I assist with the little ones. They always have me laughing.

15590447_10211760161146237_6514630322079729290_n

My Gastro retired. So I began seeing another new Gastro. I am grateful this one is compassionate and well educated. We began paperwork for Remicade over the fall.

Then in October, I had another kidney infection along with stones. I also got to have a lovely weekend with my friend and visit Liberty. The trip to Liberty was one of the highlights of my year.

In November, I stopped 6 MP and began Remicade. A difficult transition. I have done two doses. It is an adjustment period.

December my friend and her family visited.(Another highlight!) While I was away with my friend I began thinking more about becoming more independent. I decided it was time to apply for a service dog.  I also got approval to move forward in the service dog process. I just began the process so I have a long way to go but it is progress and I am excited!

15578575_10211749901169744_3328137906852105075_n.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

