Verse of The Year

Plenty of people craft a New Year’s resolution. Furthermore, it has become routine to designate a focus word or a Bible verse for the New Year. Recently, in our online Bible study my friend and co-leader posed the question of what verse will be their verse for 2017. Previously, I have never chosen a verse of the year and figured why not prayerfully chose one.

Friends have confined in me the blessings of selecting a verse of the year. For example, it assists an individual in focusing on Christ, provides encouragement, and guidance.

I wasn’t certain where to begin, therefore, I examined my prayer journal. Next, I prayed for direction for my verse of the year. I selected a handful of verses that deeply encourage me. I read through them and prayed once more. One verse had surfaced frequently over the past few months and consistently stood out. This particular verse seemed to fit for my verse of the year.  “Now to the God who can do so many awe-inspiring things, immeasurable things, things greater than we ever could ask or imagine through the power at work in us.” Ephesians 3:20 The Voice Translation.

I adore this verse, which contains reminders of God’s mighty truth. Likewise, Ephesians 3:20 speaks measures of God’s character. On a different note, I have learned that God’s plan is far better than mine. Furthermore, things usually don’t go as I had planned, however, God receives glory in the end. He uses what is viewed as negative events to shape me into the person He created me to be. Additionally, He is continually doing a greater work in my life than I could ask for, imagine, or fully comprehend. My goal is to focus on the awe-inspiriting things and purpose God has for my year. Through His power to serve Him better as well as others. My wildest dreams are nothing compared to His perfect plan.

2 thoughts on “Verse of The Year

Leave a Reply

