Fasting

I am honored to begin this journey through the study Finding I Am, with you. I am confident that God will do an awe-inspiring work in you. He will continue to transform your heart to reflect His. Prepared to be deeply blessed!

Lysa opens the book discussing spiritual giants and fasting. There is something powerful in giving up food (or something else) in order to sit at the Lord’s feet. Worship becomes richer. The encounter with the Lord is deeper.

I grew up in church. Sometimes I was there as often as I was at home. The twenty-four-hour famine was on my bucket list for years. Finally, I reached youth group age.  I sprang into motion once the signup sheet was out at the tender age of twelve.

Our last meal was at school directly after we headed to church. The leaders pour a lot of time into crafting memorable games, worship sessions, juice breaks, and other activities.  Many details I cannot recall, but I know it was a time that I grew closer to God.

Seconds before communion, which is how we were breaking the fast, I grabbed my friend. Instructing her to get help. I wasn’t able to see. I passed out. However, that didn’t dampen my experience. Shortly after recovering, I asked when we could do the event again. That experience led me to a season of regular fasting on my own.

16298449_1345434372182702_6326539903331270159_n.png

Fasting provides a unique way to encounter God. Jesus taught about fasting, “and when you fast, do not look miserable as the actors and hypocrites do when they are fasting—they walk around town putting on airs about their suffering and weakness, complaining about how hungry they are. So everyone will know they are fasting, they don’t wash or anoint themselves with oil, pink their cheeks, or wear comfortable shoes. Those who show off their piety, they have already received their reward. When you fast, wash your face and beautify yourself with oil, so no one who looks at you will know about your discipline. Only your Father, who is unseen, will see your fast. And your Father, who sees in secret, will reward you” (Matthew 6:16-18).

In this season of my life, due to my combination of chronic illnesses, I cannot fast from food. I want to encourage you if you are in a similar situation. All is not lost if you cannot fast from food. While it is an amazing experience, your current health situation is not a surprise to God. His grace extends where our bodies fail.

Fasting can be done in numerous ways. Some non-food suggestions are fasting from technology, a television series, or a hobby. The goal is to spend more time with God. Giving Him your undivided attention. To enhance your relationship with Him. Time away from something allows more time with God.

Lord,

We adore your precious name. You are worthy of all honor, glory, and praise. You reign victoriously. Awe-inspiring, faithful, and sovereign.

Thank you for the gift of fasting. We praise Your name that Your grace extends into the depths of where we lack. We praise You for providing a way where we see none. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the time we spend alone with You. The time we worship You, seek Your face, talk with you, and spend in Your living Word.

Allow of Your children who read this to grow closer to You and to experience You in a unique way. Burden their hearts for You. Set their soul on fire. Bless this Bible study in an awe-inspiring way. Beyond our dreams. We praise Your Holy Name.

Amen

Leave a Reply

