IV Fluids For POTS

Wow, I guess I don’t do health updates that often. I just noticed that it has been six months since my last POTS update.  I haven’t done many updates on my POTS because little progress has been made. Just an overview my pressure is still on the low side, heart rate most times insanely high, falling, near syncope, tremors/muscle spasms,  headaches, and brain fog. Later in the day is extremely difficult especially the closer I get to my Remicade infusion. I am thankful that I now have a rollator walker. It makes life easier after showers to safely get back to my room.

I have noticed the brain fog affecting me more cognitively lately, which adds to my frustration at times. There are times I have dyslexic tendencies while writing. I will switch or mix up letter. My spelling at times is worse. I tend to file that stuff under POTS.

I have had minimal success with POTS treatment. I have been on a tachycardia medication, but it is not consistently doing its job. Somedays even with the meds my heart rate is 160.  The steroids raise the blood pressure slightly but I sill come in at low 100- 115/ 50-85 ish.

Needless to say, my POTS treatment leaves my doctor frustrated, my family frustrated, and me frustrated. Falling every other day or more just isn’t acceptable anymore. I have been doing it off and on for three years now. My body is exhausted. I have injured a few things. My bones are not in a place that this is remotely safe. I kindly but firmly told my doctor we need to do something, anything at this point. It was a long debate with begging

I kindly but firmly told my doctor we need to do something, anything at this point. It was a long debate with begging laying out several creative options; medication changes, IV fluids, or teach me to accommodate my life. I was extremely respectful and compassionate as I always am with every medical professional (I remain that way even with the nasty ones). I thanked him for all he has done furthermore mentioning I am beyond thankful for the hospital. I find it important in the midsts of frustration to express that I am thankful and I understand I am complex but we need to work together so that I can have a better quality of life. Despite my compassionate response things were left at that point in time unsettled. My doctor wasn’t thrilled with my options. At my next appointment, my mom accompanied me as always and sat silently. My doctor was more compassionate, willing to listen, and was impressed with the research I had presented to him.

Despite my compassionate response things were left at that point in time unsettled. My doctor wasn’t thrilled with my options. At my next appointment, my mom accompanied me as always and sat silently. My doctor was more compassionate, willing to listen, and was impressed with the research I had presented to him. Even so, I could tell he was not sold on the idea of using IV fluids to treat my POTS, however, we had tried everything else. It seems too simple. Too basic. Thankfully, he allowed me to try which is all I could ask for.

You, need to learn how to be your own advocate. Speaking up doesn’t mean throwing a fit or being nasty. Speaking up can be done compassionately and with respect. It gives you a voice, an active part in your health, and respects your body. Never be afraid to ask questions or say no.

Today I got my first round of IV fluids. I also had my Remicade infusion, which I will do a separate post on. I was at the infusion center for four hours total and a four-hour round trip. I am expecting to notice a difference tomorrow.

So for anyone who is wondering, how can simple saline help POTS, I will gladly share. More research is needed, but the results to me are amazing and worth trying if your POTS doesn’t comply with normal treatment. Most of us are very dehydrated this, of course, helps with hydration. Additionally, it can help blood pressure, heart rate, decrease passing out or near passing out episodes, help the person stay upright, and possibly more. In my case, the hope is to also decrease shaking, improve brain fog, decrease infections (that could be related to dehydration), and decrease kidney stones.

Today I got about a litter and a half. Furthermore, I was told to keep up all fluids by mouth. Very rough estimation 50-60 ounces by mouth which are a slight decrease from a normal day. I will have two additional tiral runs of fluids next week at a center called Chronic Care. I am extremly hopeful with this treatment.

2 thoughts on “IV Fluids For POTS

Leave a Reply

